A trip to Pearl Harbor Historic Site (Hawaii)

IMG_1026

I ‘m not sure what brought us to check out Pearl Harbour, but I’m really glad we did.  I took a lot of pictures, and didn’t upload all – it would be just too crazy.  So here are just several that really blew me away.

IMG_1033

I cannot believe this is how big a missile is.  ITS LIKE TWICE THE SIZE I THOUGHT IT WOULD BE.

IMG_1037

I get goosebumps just looking at the waters, imagining what happened in the past and all the pain, sadness, and deaths that happened.

IMG_1040

An anchor from one of the ships. Again, bigger than what I imagined.

IMG_1049

IMG_1051

I’m shocked that the american ship was so small compared to the Japanese ship.  Seriously….

IMG_1052

I couldn’t take a full size of the boat…but if you google it.  It’s a very big difference.  Look how many planes could fit on the war ship!

IMG_1068

I really think this is a place everyone should go at least once in their life to learn about not just this particular war…but what war is like in general.

IMG_1069

Thank you to museums like this for finding, maintaining, and storing all these historic artifacts so the world can have a glimpse of real history.

IMG_1070 IMG_1071

I couldn’t believe I was seeing a real  weapon from the Japanese side here.  We hear about such weapons and missiles in movies, and books – but when you really are standing in front of one….a sense of eerie-ness just overshadows you.

We all learn about this horrible event in history and social studies, but you don’t really experience a fragment of this event unless you come here and just breathe it in.

http://www.pearlharborhistoricsites.org

PS. NO BAGS ALLOWED.  You can pay a few dollars to have your bag stored if you have no where to leave it.

Leave a Reply

