Adzuki Bean Jam & Milk Muffins (紅豆牛奶瑪芬蛋糕) Recipe

 

photo 1 photo 2 photo 3 photo 4

pictures from my little kitchen ❤

Original recipe from Vanillyn
Yields around 10 muffins

Ingredients
130g unsalted butter, at room temperature
70g caster sugar
200g adzuki bean jam (I used 220g), at room temperature
2 medium eggs, at room temperature
150g cake flour
2 1/2 teaspoon baking powder
170ml unsweetened evaporated milk

Directions

  • Preheat the oven to 170C. Line a 12-hole muffin pan with 10 cupcake liners.
  • In a bowl, sift together the flour and baking powder. Set aside.
  • In a medium bowl, lightly beat the butter to soften. Add in the sugar and beat until light and fluffy.
  • Mix in the adzuki bean jam, follow by the eggs, one by one and mix until well combined.
  • Using a rubber spatula, gently fold in the flour mixture until just combined.
  • Add in the evaporated milk and fold until thoroughly combined. Try not to overmix the batter.
  • Fill each muffin cup to about 3/4 full. Bake for 20 – 25 minutes.

I love “red bean ice” and thought topping off the muffins with condense milk would make a great twist especially as the muffin itself isn’t that sweet.  My asian family LOVED it as it was moist and not on the sweet side.  I think next time I would probably add a tad bit more milk (just a splash more) as I like my muffins to be really moist.  And I would probably add a bit more sugar and a bit more red bean (strong red bean flavor).  Perhaps the red bean azuki can that I purchased was just not sweet enough?  Not sure.  Or maybe i just have a real strong sweet tooth. This is a great recipe and I definitely recommend you follow the recipe above at least ONCE before you start modifying it to your liking! 

Leave a Reply

