A Super Easy Tres Leches (Milk Cake) Recipe

photo(1)

Picture from my little kitchen!

Recipe makes 1 -9×13 inch cake
Original recipe from All Recipes

Ingredients

  • 1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour

  • 1 teaspoon baking powder

  • 1/2 cup unsalted butter

  • 1 cup white sugar

  • 5 eggs

  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract

  • 2 cups whole milk

  • 1 (14 ounce) can sweetened condensed milk

  • 1 (12 fluid ounce) can evaporated milk

  • 1 1/2 cups heavy whipping cream

  • 1 cup white sugar

  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C). Grease and flour one 9×13 inch baking pan.
  2. Sift flour and baking powder together and set aside.
  3. Cream butter or margarine and the 1 cup sugar together until fluffy. Add eggs and the 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract; beat well.
  4. Add the flour mixture to the butter mixture 2 tablespoons at a time; mix until well blended. Pour batter into prepared pan.
  5. Bake at 350 degrees F (175 degrees C) for 30 minutes. Pierce cake several times with a fork.
  6. Combine the whole milk, condensed milk, and evaporated milk together. Pour over the top of the cooled cake.
  7. Whip whipping cream, the remaining 1 cup of the sugar, and the remaining 1 teaspoon vanilla together until thick. Spread over the top of cake. Be sure and keep cake refrigerated, enjoy!

I really fell in love with this cake when I went to my friend’s house for dinner.  And I thought it would be super complicated, but it turns out, as she told me, its really just white cake with 3 different milks.  I think my one big tip would be to let the milks soak into the cooled cake and wait till it’s completely at room temperature before putting it into the fridge.  I think my cake wasn’t as moist from the milk because I threw it into the fridge too soon and the milk didn’t get to fully soak while the cake was slightly still warm.  I was having my *asian* family over …I emphasize *asian* because 99.9% *asian aunties and uncles* do not like sweet desserts.  SO…I decided to do something kinda silly, not only did I cut the sugar by 25% in the cake, but I also cut it out completely in the whipped cream topping.  Next time….I will try to make it as is and I’m sure it’ll be much yummier.  Cake taste strange when it’s not as sweet.  Heehee!

Leave a Reply

