Matcha Cupcakes with Azuki/Red Bean Buttercream Recipe

photo 4photo 3

pictures taken from my little kitchen ūüôā

Makes one dozen cupcakes
Recipe from the Little Epicurean

Matcha Cupcakes Ingredients

  • 3/4 cup + 2 Tbsp cake flour, sifted
  • 3/4 cup all purpose flour
  • 1 cup granulated sugar
  • 1 Tbsp matcha powder
  • 1/2 Tbsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/2 cup unsalted butter, cut into cubes, room temperature
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1/2 cup whole milk

Matcha Cupcakes Directions:

1. Preheat over to 325 degrees F.

2.  Combine flours, sugar, matcha powder, baking powder and salt in the bowl of an electric mixer with a paddle attachment.  Mix on low until combined.  Add butter cubes and mix until just coated with the dry ingredients.

3.  In a large measuring cup, whisk together eggs and milk.  Add the wet ingredients to the dry in three additions while the mixer is on medium speed.  Scrape down sides of bowl before each addition.  Mix until all ingredients are incorporated but make sure not to overbeat.

4.  Divide batter among lined cupcake pan, filling a little over 2/3 full.  Bake 20-25 minutes, until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean.

5.  Transfer to wire rack to cool.  Once cupcakes have cooled, stamp out center with a small round cutter.  Then fill and top with red bean buttercream.

photo 1

photo 2

Red Bean Buttercream Ingredients

Makes 2 1/2 cups
I used a old allrecipes recipe and changed it to Red Bean flavor!

  • 1/2 cup shortening
  • 1/2 cup butter, softened
  • 2 tablespoons whipping cream
  • 2 tablespoons of Azuki/Red Bean (I used ready made from cans – sweetened)
  • confectioners’ sugar until right texture

Red Bean Buttercream Directions

In a large bowl, cream together the butter, shortening, and Azuki/red bean. Blend in the sugar, one cup at a time, beating well after each addition. Beat in the whipping cream, and continue mixing until light and fluffy. Taste as soon as the texture begins to thicken.¬† I ‘m very scared of super sweet icing so as soon as the texture is right – I stop adding sugar.

I made these lovely cupcakes for my grandma’s 84th birthday today.¬† Was glad to find someone made green tea cupcakes and uploaded their recipe.¬† The flavor was great in the cakes and just the right amount of sweetness to it.¬† I will most likely just switch out the all purpose flour and only use cake flour next time.¬† I find that alot of recipes use some all purpose flours and my cupcakes always turn really hard…I like my cakes very, very moisty! ¬† So next time – NO MORE ALL PURPOSE FLOUR FOR ME FOR ANY CUPCAKE RECIPES!!¬†

Now let me talk about the buttercream.¬† As you know….I like to keep things super simple….so as much as I wanted the cream to look beautiful like “the Little Epicurean”…I just could not bear to use a candy themometer …as knowing me, I will most likely to screw up with the temperatures and everything will be a waste.¬† So I started digging threw my old recipes.¬† And jazzed it up with ready made azuki.¬† The thing that really racked my brains was how to balance the confectioner sugar with the red beans as they were sweetened already.¬† So I just added what was needed to create the texture and added a bit of whipping cream and turned the mixer up.¬†

photo 5

 

Leave a Reply

