Ponzu Chicken and Vegetables Stew Recipe

chicken stew japanese

Adapted from a recipe I found on Cookpad
Serves 4 people

Ingredients:

  • Chicken thigh (with bone) – 4
  • Onion – 3/4
  • Potato – 1
  • Carrot – i used about 15 -20 baby carrots

Flavoring Ingredients:

  • Ponzu – 75ml
  • Water – 50ml
  • Sake – 2 tablespoons
  • Mirin – 2 tablespoons
  • Water – 2 tablespoons

Directions:

  1. Cut the onion and potato into bite size pieces. Pierce the skin side of the chicken several times with a fork. Wash and put carrots aside (if you aren’t using baby carrots, then chop them into bite size!)
  2. Start cooking the chicken skin side down in a dry frying pan. Brown both sides over high heat. Wipe off the excess oil that comes out of the chicken with paper towels.
  3. When both sides are browned (don’t brown too much) put all the ingredients and flavoring ingredients into a wide pan or even better, a cast iron pot. Arrange the ingredients so they don’t overlap each other as much as possible.
  4. Put a lid on the pan/pot and simmer over low heat while occasionally turning over the ingredients. Turn the heat off and leave the pan with the skin side down for at least 30 minutes, preferably overnight.
  5. Heat up the pan/pot just before serving!
  6. You can serve the dish like a stew OR take out the solid ingredients and add some cornstarch to make it thick-like a sauce.  Then pour over solid ingredients and rice.

I really enjoyed this dish as a stew (also easier to serve).  I was amazed how it smelled -so buttery for some reason and velvety.  I don’t know how to explain.  The sauce was perfect to go over rice too.  LOL i love white rice with sauce on top.  but not soy sauce -_-” The chicken just fell off the bone, and then carrots were so juicy, and onions were just melted basically into the sauce. 

A MUST MUST TRY! ^_^

PS. Here is the pot I use – I absolutely LOVE IT.  Got it as a gift from my aunt for my bridal shower.  Had no idea these things are so pricey!  But…money well spent!!

cuisin art

2 thoughts on “Ponzu Chicken and Vegetables Stew Recipe

  1. KimHo

    I seldom make Asian type stews but, in the few instances I do, I use a clay pot. Heck, I believe I have way too many pots and pans!

    In terms of cookware, a cast iron has always been a good investment. I have several cast iron pieces myself: two enameled dutch oven (different brands) and an enameled skillet. If you are savvy enough in the kitchen and have a lot of time (plus you don’t mind to go through the process) a regular cast iron piece is relative cheap and can last ages if used correctly. Alas, sometimes I don’t have the patience required to use it.

    The only oddity in the recipe is step #3. If everything was browned in a pan, why not use the same pan? Feels as if extra mess is created for no reason.

    • ivancouver604

      Agreed – I definitely want to get a bigger cast iron pot. One is not enough! haha!

      I’m not sure why the recipe says to do that – but actually I just used the same pot. HAHAHAHA. Because yes – I’m lazy. My guess is they probably want more of a straight burn on a pan, rather than a cast iron which takes longer. BUT O WELL. I just dont want to wash more dishes.

Leave a Reply

