I dyed my hair POWER RED (R57)by Feria, LOREAL

and I did it myself.  WOW.

Image

(second to left box)

I have had my hair…brown, ash brown, dark brown, light brown, blonde streaks, etc.  but havent had this red hair ever.  Well, there was one time I tried and it turned orangey.  And then there was one time when I was 14 and my aunt, who is a professional hairdresser convinced me to put hideous thick bright tomato red highlights.

I dyed it with TWO boxes cause my hair is really long and thick on August 30/31.  Somewhere I read that the colors last 28 washes?  U usually wash my hair everyday, but thanks to the savoring of this color, I have tried to wash it every other day – which for me feels nasty.

It’s now almost two weeks and I can see it slowly start to fade and turn into a brown – still not bad I think as I’m still recieving compliments.

ImageThis picture was taken inside the car…so looks a bit darker.

Image

Boo!  Did I scare you ?  Hahaha – had to first show a pic all glammed up before I pull this one out.  This was basically right after the first wash.

And lastly… this is after almost two weeks…

Image

See what I mean about the faded red?  But still a bit red right?

My final verdict ?  I recommend it. It’s actually quite cheap too.  Bought it at shoppers on sale for $20 for the two boxes.  I have a fresh color and look that will last around a month.  I’m also quite surprised how much color showed as usually asian hair is harder to dye.  My previous hair color wasn’t very bright (sorry – too lazy to find pic) – just a brown medium tone.

13 thoughts on “I dyed my hair POWER RED (R57)by Feria, LOREAL

  1. Leena

    Hi! I’m from finland and have been wanting this kinda red hair for looong time. Your post about Loreal paris feria haircolor really helped me. 🙂 Now i know what i’m gonna do to my hair, i have brown hair that is as difficult to color like asian hair is. So if this worked well with you, i know it will work for me. So thank you for making this post. ^^

    • ivancouver604

      Hi Leena!
      Fantastic to hear from you. My hair is pretty long, so I used two boxes, not sure if that has any effect on the turn out of the colour. It should work out great for you !

      Hope Finland is a beautiful day for you today 🙂

  2. Jessica Elsie Jenkins

    Wonderful! I just bought this shade of red tonight and I am getting my hair cut tomorrow (hopefully) to donate it to Locks of Love and wanted to go back to being a red head again. It’s nice to see a review from a fellow Asian woman (and a very pretty one at that). Your post here has helped me greatly. The last color I went with was R55 I believe and it wasn’t to my liking. I love how it looks on you. Here’s to mine looking nice too after I get it cut lol!

    • ivancouver604

      Awesome! I hope it works out great for you Jessica 🙂
      Thank you for your kind words and be sure to let me know if you find success with it as well! I think it’s wonderful that you are donating your hair to Locks of Love!

      I’m starting to train for a 5k marathon for BC Liver Cancer in June! Great to hear there are people out there giving to those in need!

      • Jessica Elsie Jenkins

        That’s great! I donate my hair when it gets too long for my poor arms and shoulders to handle brushing it lol. I can’t handle someone else brushing it (just a personal thing) so even my hubby isn’t allowed to brush it for me. So when my arms hurt before I’m done brushing it, it’s usually long enough to donate lol! I’m South Korean so I totally get the hard to dye the hair issue. But I donate because I’ve had dealings with those in the past who have passed on from cancer and hubby’s Mum passed from cancer as well. ❤ Find me on FB if you would like to keep in touch. It's nice to find others who's hearts are in the same place mine is. This will make the 3rd time in 12 years or so donating it for me. Like you I love to cook and bounce about in the kitchen. I'm also designer of all things stringy stuff (yarn and threads) 🙂 I'm working on getting back to my heritage (albeit late in life) but better late than never 🙂

      • Jessica Elsie Jenkins

        Oh goodness, it worked much better for you than me! I now have a mahogany dark brown shade of hair lol. Looks like I’ll have to resort to going blond then overdying red once again like I used to in order to get that nice red I love. Hope you’re having a great day!

      • Jessica Elsie Jenkins

        That likely helped you a lot lol. Though for me I have to say I can’t use it ever again unfortunately. I had a delayed allergic reaction to the dye that actually still gave me problems up until earlier today. Thanks to retired doctor hubby he was able to handle it at home and no doctor or hospital visit was needed. Unfortunately the Power Red line is just not for me! Hope you have a great day as well!

  3. Loulou Mars

    hi I’m from Australia – Melbourne ‘m i love your hair color. in Melbourne or online was not able to buy this kind of item L’Oreal Paris Feria, R57 Power Reds Intense Medium Auburn/Cherry Crush
    and i really want the brand and color and suggestion please?
    thanks

Leave a Reply

